Roll With The Punches

Real Estate is an industry quickly changing.  Back in the day, a telephone and phone farm was all one needed to embark on a successful real estate career.  We looked up numbers, made cold calls, and got our ten contacts a day in order to build a solid and successful business.  My, how things have changed!  Nowadays, just the mere act of obtaining a legitimate phone number is nearly impossible and most people have caller ID, so even if you do get a number, your phone call is not getting answered.  This can be absolutely maddening to some real estate agents, especially more seasoned ones, like myself.  We’ve been used to doing something one way for a very long time and all of a sudden we’re hit upside the head with Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Youtube, blogs, websites, oh my!  So, the choice is ours, either roll with the technological punches or retreat back into our dimly lit caves, complete with dial-up modems and VCRs.  Being a broker myself, I knew that if I was going to continue to survive in this business, I would have to exit the cave and step into the warm glow of Internet based marketing technology.

As overwhelming as all of this new technology seems, it it something that can be accomplished if you know how to delegate.  Being a broker, I get the chance to work with a lot of people younger than myself, and the benefit of that is their expertise in the world of all things Internet and techie stuff.  I know what I’m good at; running a business, selling properties, market analysis, negotiating, etc.  And, I know what I’m not good at–yet; Facebook, Twitter, blogging, and understanding the whole machine in general.  So, I delegate.  I surround myself with people that are totally comfortable with all this stuff and set them free to build my business with my model for the new age of Internet and Google searches.  I learn from them as they learn from me and it is truly a mutually beneficial relationship.

The issue with delegating is the relinquishment of control it requires.  As owners, presidents, brokers, CEO’s, or just being the boss in general, we get used to doing things our way and on our terms.  Change is uncomfortable and undoubtedly difficult, yet so necessary if you want to grow your business.  In all honestly, when my associates first started coming to me with all the ideas for change and new marketing strategies for the company, I retreated into my cave and tried to ignore them.  They did not relent.  I was bombarded with emails, links, company meetings dedicated solely to our Internet presence and the need for Ipads to take to listing appointments.  For nearly a week, I lied awake in bed at night and was consumed throughout the day with fear.  Fear that I’d lose control of my company, fear that I’d be investing time and money into something that I wasn’t so sure about, and just plain fear that I didn’t understand all these things being thrown at me.

 

Finally, I make the decision to pick up the phone and call one of my most trusted mentors in the business and he quickly set my mind at ease.  He explained that this was really all in the best interest of the company and my negative reaction was only a struggle to retain some kind of false control.  In essence, I had to let go if I was going to let my company grow the wings it needed to fly.  What he said clicked.  I recognised everything he was saying as true and hung up the phone with a new sense of hope and determination.  And here I am blogging.  Case in point.

 

Growing is never easy, we all feel the pains of bones stretching and ligaments pulling.  However, if we want to become bigger and stronger, growing is a necessary part of life, and business.  Let technology into your business model and feel the joy (and leads!) it will bring.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

